Oracle RAC install reboot after Clusterware install

As a matter of course I’ve always stopped clusterware and rebooted each node after doing the clusterware install. I do this just to know that everything restarts properly before I move on with the rest of the installs. I was in a rush on a R&D system and I skipped that step. I ran into countless unusual issues that I’d never seen before from nodes not showing up in the node list for rdbms install, db installer reporting listeners weren’t there, and other odd things. Finally at dbca db create I hit and error about the listeners that I just couldn’t get past. As a last resort I stopped clusterware and rebooted. Then dbca worked fine. I will never skip that step again, in fact, I’m wondering if I’d just forgotten that is a required step (might have to check the docs).

Leave a Reply

